Tags

, , , ,

             ‘We must lose our way if we are to find ourselves again.’

dalmur0091

Life is not always easy. No matter how big and important we are, life can get very painful and messed up many a times. It gets complicated at the worst of times, and sometimes, we are clueless about where to go or what to do. These are the moments when we say, we are truly lost, with feeble chances of ever knowing if we are going to get back on track again.

As we lose ourselves, dropping into a wide open, huge abyss, it seems more than ever before, that we have fallen into an endless pit of despair and dejection. But, it is precisely, then, that we should push through every door that hurts us, knocking down the walls that come up before us as barriers, and walk we must then past all our hurt, our pain, our failures and through all those damning memories that continue to haunt us to salvage our lives and thrive through it all.

Ironically, most often, the things that hurt us, are also the things that make us the strongest. These life-changing situations change our innermost core, turning us into mature individuals, seasoned enough to take on life’s volleys at any random order.

Frankly, having had my fair share of the ‘slings and arrows’ of an outrageous fortune through a major part of life, I’ve had to oscillate between various options before realising my own calling in life and finding my own deliverance. Sometimes this has meant going against the grain and refusing to conform, or taking the road less travelled, instead of the well-beaten path to find my way through the unchartered terrains. Every rough encounter has taught me something useful, that has finally shaped me into the person I am today. No qualms to admit, therefore, that my learning from the School of Hard Knocks has been absolutely invaluable – something that a sheltered and cushioned life could never have given!

As to the question about what it has taught me? Well…a lot really! I look at things in a very different light! And that makes me see a lot of things that I would earlier often fail to catch…! In the process of planning and measuring out our future, we often forget to live the day as it comes…the minutes…the moments…the here….and the now! I try and make the most of it now….I laugh more in the face of adversity, and leap before I look; sometimes marching to the beat of my own drums and sometimes as I earlier said, stubbornly refusing to fit in. There are times when loneliness wraps me up in itself like a warm blanket, giving me solace and peace within. I see it as a gift today – for it gives me the opportunity to know my real self; to learn how strong I really am, and to look within for contentment. For only when I am happy will I be able to give others happiness. Only when I’m positive will I be able to spread positivity around.

Adversity, pain and tough times do often go a long way in creating a richer, deeper, more vibrant and more thoughtful person of us!

It is easy to get lost, but the glory is in finding oneself!

 

If you want to find the trail, if you want to find yourself, you must explore your dreams alone. You must grow at a slow pace in a dark cocoon of loneliness so you can fly like the wind, like wings, when you awaken.”  ― Francesca Lia Block, Dangerous Angels                                               

This post was written for the Write Tribe Festival of Words #4 for Day7.

