Heartbreaking. Misty-eyed and emotional, we hug once more, as we always do. It’s never ever easy to see her off as the porter wheels her away, out of sight towards the check-in counter at the airport.

I walk away, towards the car park, wondering if I’m leaving some part of me behind! Perhaps, I do. As the years go, I’ve realised how much we need each other in the good and the not-so-good times.

Had got so used to seeing her pottering about the house, cooking our favourite dishes every now and then, reminding me to look after myself, sharing her invaluable life lessons from her vast storehouse of experience and knowledge, and most of all, in her unique way, showing us how to remain proactive, agile and cheerful even in the face of adversity, no matter how many constraints life might bring upon!

Very few people have that kind of warm presence that inspires and generates positivity wherever they go. I know she’ll get busy lighting up other lives now.
Look after yourself, as you always say to me! Can’t wait to see you back. Remember we have so many plans waiting for us, of places to go and things to catch up on. Stories, that I have to tell you and, the book that I will be writing someday. So much that’s still left unsaid.

For now, I have only one thing to say – Home will never be the same without you, Maa!

