Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m participating in the #BarAThon – a blogging Challenge which involves blogging on alternate days from Jun 17 – Jun 30, 2017. There is one common theme running across all the days, which is ‘Seven‘ and specific prompts for each of the blogging days, based on the titles of books.

Today, I have chosen to go with the theme- Seven memorable skywatching moments. 

1. Catching the serenity of the dusk hour at Nahargarh Fort, in the outskirts of the pink city – Jaipur, was a very beautiful experience. The glowing sky was gradually losing its sheen, as the Sun dipped into the horizon and clouds drifted in. It was great to capture a few sky shots but even when the lights got dim, the sky had a beauty all of its own that one could only capture with one’s eyes. This was that moment.

naharsunset

2. This was shot on a partially cloudy summer evening, a few years back. I was working from home, and it was one of the earliest of my sky watching moments when I discovered what a great view our living room windows offered, of the blue skies outside. I’ve been hooked onto sky watching even since. That moment I captured, spoke to me and although I’ve seen many cloud formations after that day, I haven’t quite seen anything similar ever again!

P1010044

3. This one just reminds me of the famous words by Tagore, “Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.” Another one shot from my living room window, that was also a random capture on a busy evening. It sure helps to have that iPhone handy at all times. What do you say?

img_6694

4. This one surely suffices to be called – “One for the road!” What a day it was, setting off early in the morning with the parents, three of them who are septuagenarians, and the three of us, on a road trip, to make memories over the summer break. We had a lot of fun chatting and sharing amusing anecdotes on the way, to keep ourselves occupied over the long drive to Coorg and later, Ooty. This shot was taken on the first day of our journey as we got onto the highway, on our way to Mysore. There were rain clouds looming in the sky, but nothing that could dampen the spirits of the trippers eager for a respite from the soaring heat of Bangalore!

img_8556

5. Shot, when I returned from a walk one evening, and as I was getting ready to make myself a cup of tea, I noticed a glowing crimson hue spreading right across until the farthest end of the horizon. It was a sight like never before and I knew I had to capture it. Over the days, there were to be many a dull evening, when I had hoped for another such sunset, but it was not to be. Thankfully, I put aside my work and enjoyed the sky to my heart’s content. Do you see why they say- ‘Earth has its music for those who will listen?’ I’ve often felt that life is to be lived in these little unforeseen moments, while we are busy doing our everyday things. Mindful living lets you do just that!

img_4961

6. When you shoot, you’re always ready to take pictures anywhere. I love to carry my phone because it lets me take random shots on the go. There’s nothing like a beautiful crisp winter morning when you’re feeling positive and the world is full of possibilities and you stumble upon a sight as you are waiting for the car to pull out of the parking lot. The sight needs to be captured there and then and frozen forever, for who knows when this might become a memory to be treasured for posterity? What do you think of this shot?

IMG_7155

7. They say, that the sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its nets of wonder forever. Well, this is what the sea did to me during my stay in the beautiful island of Mauritius where I lived there years ago. Mark Twain once wrote, ‘Mauritius was made first and then heaven, heaven being copied after Mauritius’. If you’ve been there, you’d know how right he was. I have fond memories of the two years I spent there, its sapphire-blue waters, powder-white beaches and the swaying Casuarina trees that present a front-row seat onto some of the most beautiful views in the Indian Ocean. Ah, who wouldn’t love that! The image below was shot during an evening spent in Grande Baie, located at the Northern end of the country, which used to be our favourite weekend haunt in those days, not far from our home in Rose Hill.

img_7843

So, tell me how did you find these images? The regular readers know how much I love photography, but I confess, am still a novice and someone who is constantly learning. There is so much to learn before one can ever call oneself a professional photographer. Of course, I never let that stop me taking random shots and learning from those who are really good at it.

I am often asked why I shoot mostly on my smartphone than a DSLR. There are many reasons that I prefer to do so. Mostly this choice comes down to overall weight, as well as convenience. DSLRs sometimes just feel like overkill if you’re not doing photography professionally. A smartphone is something you’re likely to have on you and doesn’t require any special accessories most of the time.

Do you enjoy photography too? Tell me, what do you really think of these images? Bring on your thoughts and do share them in the comments below.

barathon

You may read my other posts for the series here:

#Barathon Day 1 – The Fault is in the Stares.

#Barathon Day 2 – Life of Pie.

#Barathon Day 3 – Seven Favourite Film Scores.

********

Also linking this with #Skywatch Friday, where people post beautiful sky shots from different parts of the world.)

swftom

